top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJackie Taves

What's the Plan?

I feel like I should introduce myself again. Hi, I'm Jackie. It's been a while since my last blog post. Almost an entire year! Honestly, since my last post, I've just felt stagnant as a designer. At first, I was so gung-ho about starting up my freelance design business. I bought my domain name, created a website, beefed up my portfolio, created an Instagram account (I know, I was definitely behind the times on this one), worked to consistently post related content, but I was constantly discouraged when potential clients would take an interest in my business, but then drop out. I recently had a client, after weeks of logo concepts, drop their project because "It's just not anything like what they had in mind."


That was it. I was tired of being rejected. I didn't know why people couldn't see my potential. I just wanted to design. Someone let me design for you!


Then I had this realization. Who was I designing for? Of course, you're thinking the answer is the client, but I'm talking on a bigger scale. Who was this whole endeavor for? Me? That didn't seem like the right answer. My initial goal with this business was to make money, pay off my student debt and prove myself as a designer. Again, that all centered around me. But what was wrong with that?


Well, everything.


So I took a break from promoting my business. I needed to refocus myself and my intentions. Why was I doing this all again? Why did I choose to be a designer? Why did I choose this career path even though people said it wouldn't make me money and it would be difficult to find work? I've spent many days and nights questioning it all, but the answer I always come up with is this: it's God's plan. It was God's plan for me to move across the country to go to school and learn about design. It was God's plan to begin my career designing at a health center. It was God's plan to reevaluate my dream of working at Disney. It was God's plan to settle in a design job that would bring me closer to my family.


It's always been His plan, from day one of my design career. That is what I should've been focusing on from the start. Designing for Him. Now I'm not saying that the client's needs and requests don't matter. Remember earlier? I said on a bigger scale. I need to remember that my design talents and passions were given to me by God, the ultimate Creator. The work I do should reflect Him in every way, from start to finish. That's why I was feeling discouraged. I was looking for approval and guidance from my clients (again, let's think bigger) when I should've been looking for approval and guidance from God. My motivation for this business should've been to glorify God, not myself.


Matthew 6:33 “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”


So that's my plan from now on. His plan will be my plan. No more pursuing this business to glorify myself, but only to glorify God. And now that I've made this decision, I can't wait to see what doors He will open for my design career.



Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page