top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJackie Taves

Does My Hair Look Good?

Don't worry. You haven't navigated to a style blog by mistake. But there has to be something said about feedback. We are creatures constantly seeking feedback. How does my hair look? What do you think about that new TV show? Do you think I'm qualified for the job?


Feedback, whether positive or negative is good, healthy even. Proverbs 19:20 says, "Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future." The term ‘feedback’ is used to describe the helpful information or criticism about prior action or behavior from an individual, communicated to another individual (or a group) who can use that information to adjust and improve current and future actions and behaviors. Everyone can benefit from feedback, especially designers.


Although I perceive myself as a professional designer, sometimes I can show bias when it comes to my designs. I find that feedback from fellow creatives or even past clients is crucial in my design process. This humble practice should be carried out in every industry. In doing so you show that you value what others have to say in order to better your work. So in short, I can't grow as a designer without you!


Effective feedback has so many benefits for not just the receiver, but for the giver as well. Let's jump into this real quick and see how you can apply this to your daily life, whether at work, home or even the grocery store!


Feedback provides value. "I see your effort, and I appreciate your work." For the giver, this shows gratitude and compassion. It shows that you value the person you are working with and that they bring a skill to the table that you maybe don't possess. For the receiver, this shows that you are wanted, or even needed. The skills that you are have grown (and in my case spent lots of college tuition obtaining) are recognized and appreciated.


Feedback motivates. Feedback motivates the receiver to excel in what they have already accomplished. This shows growth and maturity in your work. Feedback motivates the giver to create a stronger, almost mentor-like relationship with the receiver. This shows that you want to see others grow and thrive in their skill set.


Feedback promotes change and innovation. As a designer, I am always looking for the newest and most effective design solutions. Receiving feedback helps me to see that there could be better ways of doing something than what I am currently doing - creating efficiency. As our world constantly changes, I want to change as well, for the better of course.


Now obviously there is a right way and a wrong way to provide feedback.


The following are wrong ways of doing so: responding in vague terms, holding back valuable feedback as to not hurt someone's feelings; and/or attacking the designer personally, providing no feedback related to the actual work. My favorite line of feedback (please note the sarcasm) is, "It looks good." Saying this to a designer is equivalent to giving a tourist directions simply by pointing. It's worthless feedback and usually a dead end. I am asking you to tell me what's not working in the design, not because I want to ruin our relationship or put you in an awkward position. I value your opinion, and I need you to help me grow.


So when someone asks you for feedback, give it to them straight. Try to separate them as a person from the work in question. Ask questions about their concept, process and desired end result so that you receive a better understanding of the project as a whole. Also, be kind. Proverbs 16:24 says, "Kind words are like honey—sweet to the soul and healthy for the body." Your feedback will go much farther if it is said in kindness rather than in frustration or anger. Remember that you are still talking to a human being with the same feelings that you have. Feedback said in kindness will also resonate better with the receiver, making it more valuable.


So in short, feedback is essential for growth. It is not something we should shy away. We should constantly be seeking out feedback to better ourselves in everything we do. I encourage you to practice on giving effective feedback to the next person you see. Take note of how the receiver responds and how you respond as well. If your feedback causes tension, you may want to reevaluate your feedback methods. If your feedback creates a positive outcome, then well done. You are on your way to better understanding the value of feedback.







26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page