top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJackie Taves

What is a Designer?

Updated: Aug 22, 2019

If someone asked you, "What is a doctor," you would probably say something along the lines of "someone who saves lives, someone who helps people feel better, etc." But if I asked you, "What is a designer," what would you say? Most people cannot accurately describe what a designer is or does. So I am going to help you understand who I am and everything that I do that makes me a designer.


Merriam-Webster dictionary defines graphic design as, "the art or profession of using design elements (such as typography and images) to convey information or create an effect; also : a product of this art." Let's break this definition down. Graphic design is an art form. It allows me to use the creative gifts that God has given me to outwardly express my thoughts, talents and abilities. Graphic design is my profession. Just like a nurse, a construction worker or teacher, my profession is how I make a living. It should be respected just like any other profession. Graphic design is full of different elements and techniques that when correctly used will create unique and impacting designs.


Everything has a designer- this website (yours truly), those magazines you read in the waiting room, the layout of your favorite store, literally everything. Now with that said, not everything is designed well, but that's another blog post for a another time.


Let me explain to you what it means to me to be a designer. First of all, I love being a designer. I love the fact that everyday I get to use my creative skills and mindset to design something. When people ask me what I do as a designer, I tell them, "I make things look pretty." This is true, but in all actuality, I bring your visions of design to life with the skills, techniques, and research I have dedicated the past five years of my life to. I help brand companies, create marketing materials for events and help individuals stand out in their own uniqueness.


I find design in everything I do. I design when cooking, sewing, gardening, planning events and even cleaning. Claiming the title of a designer brings me joy. It creates a connection between God and me. Ephesians 2:10 says, "For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them." The more I design, the more I begin to understand the designing nature of God.


So why did I become a designer? Simply, I could not imagine myself doing anything else. My passion is design and being creative. Like I said in my previous blog post, I believe that God has given me the talent and skills for design, and if God designed me that way, why would I go against His perfect design?


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page